ABOUT US

Since 1993, Washington English Center, (formerly Language, Education, and Technology Center – Language ETC), a community-based program, has offered English and literacy training to low-income adult immigrants in the greater Washington area using volunteer teachers and tutors.

OUR VISION

That all immigrants gain the education and support they need to build a better future for themselves and for their children.

OUR MISSION

Washington English Center’s mission is to provide excellent and affordable English classes and other educational programs to adult immigrants using volunteer teachers.

OUR GOAL

To provide high-quality educational services, access to technology, and life-skill programs to all low-income adult immigrants in the Washington metropolitan area, regardless of ability to pay.

 

STAFF:

Mercedes Lemp, Executive Director   mlemp@washingtonenglish.org

Lee Griffith, Deputy Director   lgriffith@washingtonenglish.org

Emily Naber, Director of Programs   enaber@washingtonenglish.org

Alyssa Jacobsen, Manager of Weekday Programs – Volunteers & Partnerships   ajacobsen@washingtonenglish.org

Denis Illige-Saucier, Manager of Weekend Programs and Technology Education   dillige-saucier@washingtonenglish.org

Claudia Belloso, Weekend Office Manager   cbelloso@washingtonenglish.org

Clodoaldo Lopez, Weekday Office Manager   clopez@washingtonenglish.org

Erin Ross, Program Assistant

Antonio Ricci, IT Coordinator   aricci@washingtonenglish.org

Karen Belloso, Computer Programs Manager   kbelloso@washingtonenglish.org

 

BOARD OF DIRECTORS:

Amy F. Berger

Jennifer F. Browning, Treasurer

Mary Janice Dicello

Charles Dittrich

Susan Hattan, Secretary

Joseph Khoury

Stephanie G. Lawson, Vice-Chair

Bonnie Loeb

Carlos Martin

Thea Mason

Johanna Mendelson Forman

Diane Mooney

Karen Yudelson Sandler, Chair

Elizabeth Werner

Natalie Wexler

JUNIOR BOARD:

Aaron Garza, Chair
Katherine Rogers, Secretary
Laura Iglesias
Karen Feagin
Kate Maloney, Communications Committee Chair
Marie LeBlanc, Program Committee Chair
Bruce Hamilton
Jason McMahn
Emily Garvin, Development and Events Chair
Amanda Parker, Vice-Chair
Kelly Griffin
Alyssa Campagnoni
Jay Hoffman
Alex Lescroart
Patrick Urda
Caroline Renzulli
Milyeri Matthee

 

EMERITUS BOARD MEMBERS:

Pilar Laugel, Founding Director

Susanne K. Bennet

Ellen Bennet

Frances Butler

Karen DeSeve

Francis Dicello

Kathleen Hendrix

Robert Kanchuger, Esq.

Edward R.M. Kane

Alexia Kelley

Gerald Langan, Esq.

Phil Rizik

Fabian Rosado

 

ACADEMIC ADVISORY BOARD:

Brock Brady – Chair, Education Programming and Training Specialist for the Peace Corps

MaryAnn Florez, Coordinator at Fairfax County Schools Adult ESOL

Louise Krumm, Expert Consultant at the Peace Corps

Nina Liakos, ESL Teacher at the International Language Institute at the University of Maryland

Donna Moss, Program Specialist, Arlington Public Schools, Arlington Education and Employment Program (REEP)

Jawee Perla, Senior International Student Advisor, International Student and Scholar Services at American University.

Sherry L. Steeley, Special Programs Instructor – Center for Language Education and Development, Georgetown University

Ashley Lipps, Research Assistant at the Center for Applied Linguistics

 

OUR SUPPORTERS:

Our Lady Queen of the Americas

Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE)

ANC 2D

The Mayor’s Office on Latino Affairs, www.ola.dc.gov

The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation, www.cafritzfoundation.org

The Eugene and Agnes E. Meyer Foundation, www.meyerfoundation.org

The Jovid Foundation, www.jovid.org

IDB-DC Solidarity Program of the Inter-American Development Bank, www.aidb.org

Clark Charitable Foundation, www.clarkenterprisesinc.com/community/charitable_foundation.com

Cora and John H. Davis Foundation

The Acacia Foundation, www.acaciafoundation.org

The Corina Higginson Foundation

The Dana Foundation

The Hattie Strong Foundation, www.hmstrongfoundation.org

The Herb Block Foundation, www.herbblockfoundation.org

Philip Graham Fund, plgrahamfund.org

The Returned Peace Corps Volunteers of Washington DC, www.rpcvw.org

The Vilcek Foundation, www.vilcek.org

Deloitte Consulting LLP, www.deloitte.com

El Tamarindo, eltamarindodc.com

 

INDIVIDUAL DONORS

If you would like to make an individual donation, you can use the DONATE button on the main menu at the top of each page of our website, mail it to us directly, or contact our office (202-387-2222).

 

Past Newsletters

Summer 2014

Fall 2013

Summer 2013

Fall 2012

Spring 2012

Fall 2011

Spring 2011

Fall 2010

Spring 2010

Fall 2009

Spring 2009

Fall 2008

Spring 2006

Fall 2005

Spring 2005

Fall 2004

Spring 2004

Fall 2003

Spring 2003

Fall 2002